20130528_OceanLunch_001820130528_OceanLunch_0001 20130528_OceanLunch_0012-2

(May 30, 2013) – Ocean Vodka was thrilled to host The International Food Wine & Travel Writers Association (IFWTWA) at a beautiful farm to table lunch and tour this week at our Organic Farm and Distillery. It was a gorgeous day on the Farm, and we were spoiled by being able to take a break from our typical farming activities and join our guests to enjoy a locally sourced and specially prepared gourmet lunch by Chef Dan Fiske of Private Maui Chef.

20130528_OceanLunch_0020The theme of the IFWTWA press trip was “Finding the Real Hawaii Through, History, Arts, Culture and Food”. The group had started on Oahu and split to neighboring islands, and we hosted a very enthusiastic group of five writers.  The International Food Wine & Travel Writers Association (IFWTWA) is a global network of journalists who cover the hospitality and lifestyle fields, and the people who promote them.

The group lead, Maralyn Hill, had this to say, “We all loved Ocean Vodka. Everything about the experience exceeded expectations. Meeting Shay again, his parents and team was an unforgettable experience and the catered lunch was outstanding. You have achieved so much with an outstanding product in a short time and we are quite excited to be kept in the loop with all your expansion projects.”


On the menu was:
+ Molokai sweet potato salad
+ Hana hearts of palm salad, purslane greens, surfing goat chèvre, tomato ginger vinaigrette
+ Ahi sashimi, tomato lemon water, Maui onion and shiso
+ Smoked Marlin with whole grain mustard and candied fennel
+ Waihee mac nut shortbread, strawberry, mango and vanilla bean semi sweet whip cream

Special thanks to Michelle Winner (IFWTWA President), Maralyn Hill (IFWTWA Past President), Jason Kelly Photography, Dan Fiske of Private Maui Chef, Kimo Kay of Akina Aloha Tours, and all of our guests and fans who will now be spreading the Ocean aloha around the world!

Writers Included:

Graeme Kemelo

Gail Gerson-Witte

Carolyn Delafrange

Norm Hill

Maralyn Hill